artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

The Music Boxes

with 3 comments


Many people young and old have been complaining about the sad state of today’s music. While I do agree that some of today’s music isn’t great, I think music still shines with artistic brilliance today. Why? Because I have gone beyond one genre, one time period, and one country to find music that I love.

When some people think of crappy music today, they think of either pop or rap. Most people don’t realize that pop and rap have sub-genres that they may find enjoyable because they think that a music genre has just one sound.  For example, pop can have a rhythm and blues sound as seen here:

 

Furthermore, pop can have a rock sound.

 

Also, rap can have a rock sound:

 

It is these songs that bring me to my next point: time period. These songs are old, but some people who have never heard them may like them anyway. If that’s the case, then why just focus on listening to the latest music? If it’s because everyone seems to be doing it, then why follow the crowd? Be an individual and listen to whatever music you want. You never know what you’ll discover on your own. You might find you like music from before you were born, something like this:

 

The previous song has another important point: it came from a British rock band. Most people today seem to think that just because we live in America, we have to listen to American music all the time.We only call American music “American” because we are in America. Actually, we all come from many different ethnic backgrounds. These differences are something that should be celebrated in music and beyond. Fortunately, there are some musicians that have already been doing this:

 

We need to keep an open mind when listening to music. Just because we live in a certain time period,  a certain country, or prefer a certain sound, doesn’t mean there isn’t more to what we hear.

Written by Serena Zola

November 13, 2011 at 12:36 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am a music fanatic! My current iTunes library has over 17,000 songs from over 500 different artists. I joke around to people that I like every type of music except polka. 🙂 Rap, rock, r&b, blues, classical, acoustic, jazz, alternative, pop, indie, etc…you name it, I love it.
    I don’t think I’ve ever categorized music as “American” music, although I’m sure plenty of my music professors in college would cringe to hear me say that. So many factors make music what it is today. Watch “The Sing Off” and you’ll see how groups who tend to sound jazzy can turn a pop song into a different feel and sound by tonality and chord progressions.
    Groups like “Foster the People”, “Face the Giants”, “Coldplay”, and even Adele (I think) are making it big because they can keep the main factors of pop (which appeals to the general population) but also add in Indie/Jazz/Rock influences so it doesn’t sound like Britney Spears or Rihanna. I like listening to Britney and Rihanna but I like a little more sophisticated sound at times.
    I think there’s a time and a place for all music genres. One day I may feel like Sixpence None the Richer or Kelly Clarkson and then next day want to listen to Disturbed or Limb Bizkit. Music is still alive and kickin’…no matter the time or the place.
    I’m sure people were thinking music had died back when people were experimenting with atonal music!
    Great post and great blog!

    mystmusician

    November 16, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    • Music fanatic would describe me as well. Although, the only polka I’ll listen to is from Weird Al Yankovic, lol. Most of the time, I listen to rock. However, I have many different rock music sub-genres such as pop-rock, acoustic rock, and my personal favorite, symphonic metal, which has classical and metal influences. Other times, I’ll listen to a little of something else like blues, jazz, funk, rap, or pop. Like you, it depends on my mood. Also, I agree with you with what you said about some of today’s musicians.
      I think my other favorite genre besides rock is classical, especially scores. I listen to scores when brainstorming writing ideas or just free writing. I have a little music from the tv shows Heroes and Supernatural, the movies Twilight and New Moon (not a fan of the book series or the movies just a tiny bit of the music), Pirates of the Carribean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, Bleach ( A Japanese cartoon), and the video game Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep. I don’t have as many songs or albums as you in Itunes, but I love music a lot.

      yawriterinthemaking

      November 16, 2011 at 9:41 PM

  2. Very true…gotta keep an open mind when it comes to music.

    Terisa Nelson

    November 15, 2011 at 10:56 PM


Leave a Reply

