artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

The Beauty of Music Scores

with 10 comments


When you go see a movie, watch a television show, or play a video game, do you ever notice the music playing in the background throughout? Especially during a special scene or moment?

It is this music that makes up a score.

Some people notice scores easily if they are really into what they are watching. They are enjoying it so much, that they end up remembering the exact moment a certain piece of music is played.  The first time this occurred for me was when I was playing Kingdom Hearts II and heard this music:

 

Afterwards, a friend of mine introduced me to music from an old Japanese animated show I loved called Sailor Moon:

 

At the time, I wasn’t into American television shows and movies much. It wasn’t until many years later that I became open-minded and started to enjoy them, starting with this piece from the television show Heroes:

 

The rest is history. Not only do I have scores from television shows and video games, but I also have scores from movies such as Harry Potter, Star Wars, and Pirates of the Caribbean.  Each score represents each visual work with a unique and awe-inspiring sound. Each song in a score represents a character or moment in a way that captivates more than just the eyes.  They can move your heart and soul.

Written by Serena Zola

November 27, 2011 at 2:47 PM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very true and good post

    Terisa Nelson

    December 10, 2011 at 8:00 PM

  2. Great Post I love them all 🙂

    jakesprinter

    December 9, 2011 at 8:03 PM

  3. I get most of my songs from movies and TV shows. When I watch movies and TV shows online or at home and I hear a very good song, I pause it right then and there and search the song frantically on YouTube. 😀

    addielicious

    November 30, 2011 at 7:05 AM

    • Awesome! I use Youtube too, except I wait until after the tv show is finished before I look up songs. Sometimes, the episode is too good and I don’t want to leave until it’s over, lol 🙂

      yawriterinthemaking

      November 30, 2011 at 1:44 PM

  4. Gladiator and Braveheart have amazing soundtracks….if you’re a fan of piano pieces, Finding Neverland is a great album. My husband likes The Last Samurai soundtrack…then of course Disney soundtracks are still a fav of mine! haha! 🙂

    mystmusician

    November 29, 2011 at 1:35 PM

    • I don’t really have any particular favorite sound. As long as it really represents a show, movie, or video game well and I really enjoy it, any sound is fine. Recently, I added some of the tracks from the Legend of Zelda, Once Upon a Time, and Yu-Gi-Oh! to my score playlist. Now I have a lot of songs, yay! 😀 I don’t think I have a favorite soundtrack though, because I only have a little from each soundtrack. Also, I haven’t seen any of those movies you mentioned. I’m not much of movie fan; they rarely interest me.

      yawriterinthemaking

      November 29, 2011 at 2:46 PM

  5. I find the artwork and music of some anime and video games to be amazing and awesome. I have quite a collection of such music myself. Years ago I had recorded many inspiring TV themes (like Star Trek Deep Space 9) but was introduced by my son to the art and music of Pokemon, Final Fantasy X, Yu-Gi-Oh!, Legend of Zelda, and other popular series. Indeed, the music is quite moving at a deep level. 😉

    WGD

    November 27, 2011 at 4:01 PM

    • That explains the wizard in your Gravatar! 😀 Also, I’m a Legend of Zelda and Yu-Gi-Oh! fan too. Although I’ve grown out of playing video games solo and watching anime, they will always have a place in my heart.

      yawriterinthemaking

      November 27, 2011 at 8:38 PM

      • Wizards and magicians have intrigued me long before the age of computers, video games, manga, and anime. My difficult and troubled childhood caused me to withdrawal into a world of fantasy where magic and mystical things were possible. Merlin and other wizards of lore embodied the possibility that by magic my living nightmare would end and life would be grand. Sometimes I still believe that I am a wizard. 😉

        WGD

        December 1, 2011 at 9:42 PM

      • Fantasy and teen fiction helped me through my teen years, among other things. Harry Potter was the first fantasy series I ever read 😀

        yawriterinthemaking

        December 2, 2011 at 11:14 AM


Leave a Reply

