artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Op-Ed: Minnesota’s War on Gays

with 4 comments


I was typing up a completely different new post until I came across this article via the Huffington Post: http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/one-towns-war-on-gay-teens-20120202

My immediate reaction: ANGER.

How can anyone let these kids feel so bad that they chose to kill themselves?

How can the teachers in the school, who are supposed to be role models for the students, remain neutral on the subject of homosexuality, when showing and teaching tolerance could have prevented these deaths?

How can the others adults and students turn a blind eye to a student crying out for help?

How can some of the adults outside the school judge these poor kids based on stereotypes as well as what others have told them?

More people need a mind of their own and a compassionate heart.  People say, “Children are the future” but with every senseless death like these that future diminishes.

Written by Serena Zola

February 4, 2012 at 8:55 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I debated about commenting, but I feel like I should say something. I have mixed feelings on the article from Rolling Stones.
    1) The blaming of the evangelicals in this article was overwhelming. Christian parents are not the ONLY parents or people that are not advocates of homosexuality. I was appalled at the “Be happy, not gay” shirts the article mentioned though. That is why Christians get such a bad rap…the lack of love that their Jesus taught is not being promoted. Love the people but dislike the sin. I have a gay uncle who is the sweetest guy in the world, I’m not excited about his lifestyle, but my family is not “disowning” or bashing him in any way.
    2) The school’s policies on how to handle bullying (whether for gay, religious, or in general) is completely outrageous and seemingly nonexistent. To allow students to openly say mean things, whether about sexual orientation or not, should not be allowed. Of course teachers can’t stop everything (especially things they can’t see or witness), but when a student(s) complains…that should raise a red flag and cause an action to be set in motion to rectify the situation.
    3) Michelle Bachmann. I disagree with the statement on the first page in bold “Michelle Bachman’s Holy War”. If she’s not saying anything…how is she waging war? The lack of her response is appalling and I agree that she should have said something about the suicides before having over 140,000 people petition for her to respond. However, her religious beliefs say that homosexuality is not right. So you can’t expect her to come out and openly say that LGBT should be promoted in sex ed classes and have teachers be biased towards those students but remain unbiased on religion and any other issues other people have.
    4) I feel like parents have taken a back seat in their kids upbringing and teaching. Parents are getting in the backseat of their children’s upbringing and then get upset when kids don’t turn out they way they planned. Parents are letting kids learn from social medias and other kids and “mentors”…if kids have an issue, they need to feel like they can approach their parents. It saddens me to hear when kids can’t go to a parent to ask questions because of fear or anger they perceive their parents will give back. Teachers/school admins should not be substitutes for parents.
    I’m sorry this is long winded. Those stories are horrific and I am appalled at myself for not having heard about this before. Thank you for sharing this! I hope you don’t read my comment as being argumentative, I just felt Rolling Stones was a little biased and almost seemed hostile. When it comes to kids though, bullying on any level should not be allowed and needs to be addressed. A life is a precious thing and worth so much more than the bullet, rope, or razor used to take it.

    mystmusician

    February 6, 2012 at 12:42 PM

    • 1. Yeah, I’ve seen people blaming not only Christians, but religion in general for the intolerance of GLBTQ people. I find this hypocritical, because I’ve got family members who tolerate, if not approve of, GLBTQ people even though they are religious.

      2. Personally, I think some teachers are too concerned about their test scores and bonuses to think about the students’ well being. I blame this attitude on No Child Left Behind for the most part, though.

      3. That seems to be referring to Michelle’s overall war on gays; in fact, a similar situation with gay teen suicides is going on in Tennessee. 2 have died so far.

      4. Yes, that is true. Sadly, sometimes even the parents can be the bullies too. Last month, a 19 year old killed himself not only because of student bullying, but because his parents allegedly performed an exorcism on him. They didn’t even attend his memorial service.

      Your opinion is welcome by the way; and thank you for being tolerant toward your uncle. I’m straight myself, but it saddens and angers me to see these youth driven over the edge for being different from society’s expectations.

      yawriterinthemaking

      February 7, 2012 at 2:23 PM

  2. We are on the same page. This was exactly where I was going with my next entry. It’s pure madness!!! And, what’s frightening is that she’s a person in power. Worse, she’s TOTALLY ok with her dangerous, mean-spirited hatred and intolerance.

    ronskemp

    February 4, 2012 at 11:05 PM

    • I know, right? I’m going to more Op-ED posts on here from now on, to raise awareness about the results of intolerance. That old lady has some major issues, and the first of them start with her narrow-minded thinking.

      yawriterinthemaking

      February 5, 2012 at 11:52 AM


Leave a Reply

