artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

A Contemporary Wish

with 8 comments


Tomorrow, the film adaptation of the dystopian novel the Hunger Games will be released worldwide. Since I was a huge Harry Potter fan and saw almost every film when they were released, I can understand the Hunger Games fans’ excitement. At the same time, I’m also disappointed.

The reason for this is that it seems like film companies think that all youth care about is action, adventure, and romance. Before the Harry Potter series (both the films and books) were complete, I read contemporary teen fiction novels like Looking For Alaska and Thirteen Reasons Why, books were just as good, important, and sometimes better than fantasy. Sometimes I’d think, “This book should be made into a movie.” Yet, it seems because the contemporary teen fiction hasn’t sold as much as Harry Potter, they weren’t made into films. Eventually, it made me wonder if the film industry was a popularity contest.

In this present day era, there have been non-book adaptation teen films such as Finding Forrester that present teens in an honest and realistic light. For whatever reason, films like these seem too scarce.  In fact, good contemporary teens films seemed to have peaked in earlier times, with films like Rebel Without a Cause and The Outsiders.  When you consider how much of an impact the entertainment media has on youth, there is a huge difference between a cookie cutter film and an authentic one. Whether it comes from a book or not, a film should have a fresh impact on people.

Recently, I’ve heard the film adaptation of Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being A Wallflower will be released later this year. Depending on how I feel, I may or may not see the film. However, when it is released, I will pray that similar teen films will follow.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with your post: very thoughtful. There are some much less-action-oriented YA books I’d rather see made into movies: John Green’s books come to mind, especially.

    Carey Hagan

    March 23, 2012 at 3:31 PM

    • Have you read John Green’s latest work The Fault in Our Stars? I’ve been trying to get the book from the library but I’ve been having to wait for it.

      yawriterinthemaking

      March 24, 2012 at 10:05 AM

  2. I saw the Hunger Games last night, it was awesome! 🙂
    I get what you’re saying, but I have to disagree. I love contempory novels as much as the next person but there’s a simple reason they are not turned into films as often, because they don’t sell as well. It’s as simple of that. Film makers want to go for whatever film will earn them the most rewards, and unfortunately, contemporay novels aren’t it. I think it’s probably because of the escapism aspect. Most people would prefer to get lost in a fantasy world than see something more realistic. Which I agree is a shame, especially since most of my favorite films are the realistic one’s rather than e.g. The Chronicles of Narnia.
    However, as a Hunger Games fan, I am glad they turned it into a movie, and I do still enjoy getting lost in a fantasy or alternate reality world. 🙂

    beckyday6

    March 23, 2012 at 3:01 AM

    • Thanks for your comment; your opinion is welcomed no matter what 🙂
      I heard that the sequel to the movie will come out next year. Did Katniss happen to sing Rue’s lullaby in the film? I like the Hunger Games trilogy but not enough to see the film. Also, what are your favorite realistic films, if you don’t mind sharing?

      yawriterinthemaking

      March 23, 2012 at 10:24 AM

      • Ahhh, that’s good to know 🙂
        Yeah, apparently it will as long as this film get’s enough interest, and from looking at all the buzz around it I’m sure it will! Mmm..she kind of sung it but not exactly. You know the whistling at the end of the trailer? That was the the signal that Rue told her about, just those three little simple notes. I’m already a bit rusty on remembering what happened in the book so I can’t exactly remember if that was Rue’s lullaby or if it was the song that Katniss sung. But Katniss did sing a little bit as well, but not much. 🙂
        Ahh fair enough, what didn’t you like about it?
        And sure! Although now you’ve put me on the spot I’m actually finding it quite hard to think of films haha! Urmmmm, let’s see Ladder 49 was great – that ones about Fireman. The Kings Speech. The Russell girl – absolutely loved this one, it was really emotional, I think I was in tears for at least half the film. I was also going to say Never Let Me Go, but then I suddenly realized that wasn’t actually a realistic film haha. It’s about another dystopian world but it’s done in a completely realistic way that feels kind of contemporary if that makes sense? Great cast, amazing acting and fantastic cinematography. Definitely one to check out! 🙂 You can watch the trailer here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXiRZhDEo8A

        beckyday6

        March 24, 2012 at 3:40 AM

      • Thanks for answering my question about Katniss 🙂
        The first two books of the Hunger Games were great, but the last one seemed rushed so that’s why I didn’t like the books too much.

        Also, thanks for the link about Never Let Me Go. I think I will read the book before seeing the film because the trailer is a bit ambiguous. Usually, if the film is a book adaptation then I’d rather read the book first. Then, if I really like the book, I’ll see the movie. Sometimes, there’s a random chance I’ll see the movie without reading the book first. In fact, that was the case with my book review for White Oleander. The movie was good, but to me the book was better.

        On the other hand, sometimes I’ll watch a movie that is a book adaptation and not read the book afterwards because just seeing the film was enough. Recently, I watched Schindler’s List for my film class and while I had planned to read the book that the movie is based on, I changed my mind. I’m glad I did, because it made it easier for me to critique the film. By the way, Schindler’s List was fantastic. Here is the trailer for the film: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwfIf1WMhgc

        I don’t watch films very often, but I’m learning to appreciate them more. My favorite contemporary films are Titanic, 7 Pounds, Finding Forrester, Rebel Without a Cause, and Across the Universe.

        yawriterinthemaking

        March 24, 2012 at 10:48 AM

      • Oh, and also In the Land of Women 🙂

        beckyday6

        March 24, 2012 at 3:47 AM

      • Aww, that’s a shame that the ending ruined it for you. I really enjoyed the last book but I know a lot of other people that didn’t. It’s a shame you can’t turn back time, just read the first two, and then make up your own ending!
        No problem 🙂 Yeah I didn’t realize it was a book when I watched the film. But I enjoyed it so much that I looked it up for more information and then discovered it. I really want to get my hands on the book now as well, because it was one of the best films I’ve ever seen so I expect the book is probably even better. I agree about the reading the books before the film thing. That’s always something I try to do too, if you see the film first then you no doubt experience the book differently, and it’s not as much fun reading a book if you know what’s going to happen!
        Oooh funny you mention that, I just watched Schindler’s List about a week ago and loved it. It was an exceptional way of portraying ww2. I felt really depressed about the human race afterwards haha. I didn’t realize there was a book though! Thanks for telling me, I’ll have to check that out. 🙂
        Ahh of course, I forgot about those! I loved Titanic, and Seven Pounds, I haven’t seen the others though, I shall have to investigate. 🙂

        beckyday6

        March 24, 2012 at 1:08 PM


Leave a Reply

