artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

National Poetry Month Spotlight: Poetry in Today’s Culture

with 8 comments


In honor of National Poetry Month, I’d like to share some of the things in contemporary culture that have been influenced by poetry:

Book: The Outsiders

The coming-of-age novel features Robert Frost’s poem Nothing Gold Can Stay, which is used as a part of the story’s theme.

Movie: Poetic Justice

The film features the poetry of Maya Angelou . In this scene, Janet Jackson’s character Justice is reciting the poems “Alone” and “Phenomenal Woman“.

Song: Song of Myself by Nightwish

This song was inspired by Walt Whitman‘s poem of the same name.

Written by Serena Zola

April 14, 2012 at 8:38 PM

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] National Poetry Month Spotlight: Poetry in Today’s Culture (artsandyouthlove.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted in: My Blog | Tagged: Body Image, Health, Maya Angelou […]

  2. Nice shout out to National Poetry Month. You made me realize that I really need to re-read The Outsiders. I was so young when I read that book (meaning I read it in high school) and I didn’t get it at all.

    Katarina Karenina

    April 15, 2012 at 3:03 PM

    • Thanks, The Outsiders is what inspired me to become a teen ficiton author in the first place, so you could say it is my favorite teen fiction book of all time 😀 Happy re-reading!

      yawriterinthemaking

      April 15, 2012 at 5:27 PM

  3. Nice choices

    Terisa Nelson

    April 14, 2012 at 11:31 PM

  4. Ah, yes, nice. I always liked how Dead Poets Society used “O Captain, My Captain,” by Walt Whitman.

    sonofwalt

    April 14, 2012 at 9:13 PM


Leave a Reply

