artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Op-Ed: Should YA Books Have Movie-Style Ratings??

with 2 comments


Normally, I don’t post twice in one week but when something gets me fired up I have an urge to write. Earlier this afternoon, I was on the Huffington Post when I came across this article entitled, “Should YA Books Be Given Ratings?

As a former grade school student and an aspiring YA author, I am against these proposed ratings. One important reason is that YA books are in schools for required reading and pleasure reading. One example is The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.

When I first read this book, I was in 7th grade. I can remember reaching the climax of the book. Suddenly, my teacher said, “Ok class, we’ll stop here.” I could feel the disappointment all around me. I was feeling it inside me too. “Can we read one more chapter?” a voice asked. It reminded me of a little kid asking a mom for another treat.

Then I, along with the rest of the class, spoke our support as one. “Can we please?” Please?!” We were so ecstatic about the book, we were almost hopping like kangaroos. My teacher just smiled, laughed, and said, “Okay.” The class and I cheered and we resumed reading.

Two years after that memorable moment, I started high school. From then on, there were no more memorable moments because we were no longer reading material that engaged us and related to us.  Instead of reading young adult books, we were reading classic works like Shakespeare and The Great Gatsby.

The only bright side for me and some of my classmates came when we had to do book reports. During this time, I explored the YA section of the school library. Not all of the books I chose to read were good, but there were a few I enjoyed. Some of these books included the Hazelwood High Trilogy and the fantasy series the Daughters of the Moon.

At this point, I was aspiring to become a YA author. By the time I graduated, I had read plenty of YA books. As time passed, I started to hear about banned YA books and learned that YA writers target certain age groups when they write their works. It is for this reason that I understand why people would want these ratings. After all, a book written with sixteen year old situations would not be appropriate for a thirteen year old.

However, ratings shouldn’t be used to guide pubescent and adolescents. This is something parents should do. If it concerns them, then they should ask their kid why they want to read the book. If the reason is valid, then parents should say, “Let me read the book with you.” or “I’ll read the book, too.” If you need an excuse, say something along the lines of, “If you find it interesting, maybe I will too.” By reading what their kid reads, the parent can discuss the book with their kid as they read and provide guidance if necessary.

As previously stated, kids are exposed to YA books as early as middle school. This is also the point where kids pull away from their parents and start searching for who they are. With a parent’s a loose yet firm grip, the kids will be fine.

Written by Serena Zola

May 24, 2012 at 2:28 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m in agreement with you. The idea of rating books, (especially to single out one particular genre in this way,) is ridiculous. I also would not be comfortable with a panel of concerned “experts” deciding what is or isn’t suitable for my kids to read. That’s a parent’s job. I realize there can be some mature stuff in these books, but hey… maybe they are called young-ADULT books for a reason, huh?

    I’d really hate to see a day when teens have to show I.D. at the local library. How sad it would be, to openly discourage them to read that way!

    Nice post, btw!

    Laura Ritchie

    May 26, 2012 at 11:45 AM


Leave a Reply

