artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Book Review: The Phantom of the Opera

with 6 comments


The Paris Opera House is home to music and strange occurrences. Rumors of an Opera Ghost abound. One night, a young man named Raoul de Comte de Chagny visits singer Christine Daae, his secret love. When he reaches her dressing room, he overhears Christine speaking to an unseen voice. As he starts delving further into the mystery, he is forced to confront a horror beyond his imagination.

One of the best things about this book is the suspense. It is in just about every chapter. When things start to slow down with a character, the Opera Ghost makes a creepy sudden appearance. This made the novel very engaging.

Another great aspect of the novel is the author’s writing style. From time to time, it is absolutely beautiful. It is like reading a line from Shakespeare. A favorite line goes, “Your soul is a beautiful thing child, and I thank you. No emperor ever received such a gift. THE ANGELS WEPT TONIGHT.”

Lastly, the Opera Ghost is one of the most amazing characters ever. He is the perfect embodiment of the mask motif that is throughout the novel. In fact, just the question “Who is the Opera Ghost?” displays that theme. Is he a ghost? Is he a monster? These are insightful questions to think about while reading.

All in all, this book was wonderful. Horror and gothic literature fans will definitely enjoy this book.

Written by Serena Zola

July 23, 2012 at 11:21 AM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This tops my must-see musical lists, and as a book lover I’m a bit ashamed to admit that I never considered reading it (I’m not even sure I realized it was a novel!) At least I’m not one of “those people” that only know the movie versions of things 😛 I’ll definitely have to pick up a copy and put it on my TBR shelf though after reading your review.

    Michelle

    July 28, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    • When it comes to seeing adaptations of novels as movies or musicals, I’d rather read the novel first. Hope you enjoy the book!

      yawriterinthemaking

      July 30, 2012 at 7:23 AM

  2. I was actually umming and ahhing about reading this yesterday. I didn’t know how similar it would be to the musical and if it would be worth reading. But you’ve put up a convincing argument I shall add it to my to buy list!

    Summer Grant

    July 23, 2012 at 4:10 PM

  3. I’m really looking forward to reading this, I’ve wanted to ever since I saw the theatre show but I was a little concerned because I’d never heard anyone talk about the book. Your review has made me want to read it even more! 🙂

    beckyday6

    July 23, 2012 at 12:48 PM

    • Glad I could tempt you into reading it 🙂
      I ended up reading the book after hearing about the theatre show in a couple of cultural references; while I don’t like opera, the storyline interested me.

      yawriterinthemaking

      July 23, 2012 at 7:01 PM


Leave a Reply

