artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Op-Ed: 2 Girls VS Bullying

with 6 comments


The school year has barely started and I’m already shocked by two girls and their stories of dealing with bullying. One involves a girl who became Miss Teen USA and the other involves a girl who got free plastic surgery. Of the two, the latter is more thought-provoking.

The girl who went under the knife is called Nadia IIse. According to the article, she wanted the surgery because she was getting bullied for her awkward looks.

I understand how she felt. In high school, I got called “ugly” and “retard” for making good grades and not being a typical black girl. Those words hurt and made me feel really out-of-place, especially among other black students.

In spite of this, I did not change who I was as a person.

I wish Nadia’s parents had talked her out of the surgery instead of giving her permission. I wish they had told her that who she was inside is more valuable than her outer looks.

Despite the fact that the majority of youth culture and the media thrive on people’s looks, there are some people who care about something more. One of those people is Logan West, an 18-year-old who became Miss Teen USA in May.

Logan was bullied for a reason similar to mine in 7th grade; she didn’t “act her skin tone.” Yet, like me, she refused to change herself. Before becoming Miss Teen USA, she became Connecticut’s Outstanding Teen and created the anti-bullying program Bully Proof.

Recently, Nadia IIse started school and was told by some of her classmates that she was beautiful. I hope that her physical transformation doesn’t cause her inner self to change for the worst.

Similar Post:

8 Things to Save a Life Part 1

Written by Serena Zola

August 18, 2012 at 5:15 PM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful post! These two young ladies truly had drastically different ways of dealing a painful situation. Thank you for sharing their stories… and your own.

    Laura Ritchie

    August 26, 2012 at 11:17 PM

  2. So sad….and very thought provoking.
    I’m sorry you had to go through some stuff at school too, it’s never fun.

    beckyday6

    August 19, 2012 at 7:16 AM

    • Yeah, what I went through really sucked, but it taught me some good lessons.

      What are your thoughts on the articles?

      yawriterinthemaking

      August 19, 2012 at 7:20 AM

      • I think the teen USA one is great. It’s impressive that she’s managed to bounce back and make something positive out of her bad expiriences. Not so sure about the other article, they’ve obviously written it with a negative stance, criticizing the girl and making her appear a little dumb in my opinion. And while changing your appearance shouldn’t be the answer, I think they should give her a little more credit.

        beckyday6

        August 19, 2012 at 7:30 AM

      • Why do you think they should give her a little more credit? Sorry for the questions; I just love discussing stuff with people 🙂

        I can see how the article is making her seem dumb, but I think it is that Dr. Romo that is the most dumb. Her former looks weren’t deformities at all, just awkwardness. And, as I’ve already demonstrated, that might not keep Naida from getting bullied again.

        yawriterinthemaking

        August 19, 2012 at 7:40 AM

      • Haha that’s ok, no problem! 🙂
        I just sort of mean that they are kind of treating it as if she got bullied a couple of times and automatically jumped to surgery, I’m sure she would probably have tried a lot of other things first. I feel that their stance on it is a little simplistic, they don’t seem to be taking into account just how painful bullying is and all the ins and outs of it. More just ctiticizing her for going for the ‘easy option’ well, I’m sure surgery still wasn’t an easy option. I don’t know…that may just be me overanalysing. 😛 I’m not a fan of plastic surgery really, but I do feel the article is looking down on her a little.

        You’re right, just because she’s got it doesn’t mean the bullying will stop! Although I hope in her case that it does.

        beckyday6

        August 19, 2012 at 8:00 AM


Leave a Reply

