artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Rediscovering The Music of Linkin Park

with 2 comments


Linkin Park’s Band Logo
Source: Wikimedia Commons

This past week, I had the pleasure of rebecoming a fan of Linkin Park, a band whose music I haven’t listened to or cared about in two years.

For those of you who don’t know, Linkin Park is a rock band whose music is considered alternative to most people. Until the release of their latest album Living Things, some fans have been polarized due to the fact that their previous albums  A Thousand Suns and Minutes to Midnight, were a far cry from the screaming heavy metal/rap-rock sound most fans were used to.

I gave the band a break with the latter album, but A Thousand Suns was the album that made me give up on the band completely. When the first single “The Catalyst” was released in 2010, my reaction was “What the heck? Where are the guitars? Why are the lyrics repeating themselves? This sucks!”And so, I smited Linkin Park from my mental list of awesome things and eventually stopped listening to their stuff because being reminded of their old sound made me sad.

It was Google, the 2012 MTV Video Music Awards, and curiosity that brought me back to Linkin Park’s music. I found out that the video for the band’s newest single “Burn It Down” had been nominated for Best Rock Video. The words “rap-rock song” caught my attention.

“Click the video!” an inner part of me screamed. “Click it… CLICK IT!!!”

I clicked it, I saw it, and I loved it.

From there, I ended up looking up Linkin Park’s new album on Amazon and YouTube. Using a very comprehensive review on Amazon, I judged the new album with the open-mind I had gained from developing an eclectic music taste. I even gave A Thousand Suns another chance.

Needless to say, I found Living Things to be Linkin Park’s best work yet and their previous album decent.

With Living Things, Linkin Park isn’t “back.” They never left. They have just gotten better.

Links:

Some favorites from Living Things-

Burn it Down (Official Music Video)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dxytyRy-O1k

Lost in the Echo (Lyrics Video)-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srggFS3TwKQ

Roads Untraveled (Lyrics Video)-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCnKl5VQ10s

Castle of Glass (Lyrics Video)-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5g-dHTrNNGQ&feature=related

Favorites from A Thousand Suns-

Waiting For The End (Official Music Video)-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qF_qbaWt3Q

The Messenger (Lyrics Video)-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qSjwcoucSo

Written by Serena Zola

September 14, 2012 at 8:45 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Linkin Park Fan Corner and commented:
    I had a two year hiatus from 2008-2010. It was great to rediscover them. Welcome back!

    adiek84

    September 15, 2012 at 4:25 AM


Leave a Reply

