artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

My One Year Blogoversary :D

with 4 comments


I can’t believe its been a whole year since I’ve started this blog! Not only has time flew by, but it has been great. I never thought my blog would be as big as it is now. I mean, I only started this blog with the idea of practicing to become a journalist. Little did I know, I would have fun while figuring out what type of journalist I would like to be.

Blogging has taught me so much about myself and the WordPress website. I never thought that I would end up developing an eclectic taste in books and enjoy reviewing them. In fact, if I had to pick one part of culture to write for as a journalist, I would not mind writing about books and literature.

By reviewing mostly books, I’ve realize that there are other bookworms like me out there. *waves to fellow book bloggers*

I’ve also gotten followers by reviewing music, spreading the word about a certain musician or genre, and putting my film critic glasses on from time to time. Thank you so much for following me, giving my blog a glance, or just liking one of my posts. You guys have made my year awesome 😀

And now, here are my favorite posts:

  1. The Truth About Goth and Emo– This was my first post; it was interesting to write it because it was my first youth related post.
  2. Album Review: Mylo Xyloto– This was fun to write because it was my first album review and I had just become a Coldplay fan.
  3. Movie Review: Labyrinth– I reviewed this film after seeing it for the first time, so that was cool.
  4. Banned Book Week Spotlight: The Outsiders– I felt so at home writing about the book that inspired me to become an author.
  5. Book Review: Japanese Fairy Tales– It felt so good writing a review on a book I managed to finish even though I didn’t like it much.

Last but not least, I’d like to ask my readers what I could do to improve this blog.

 

Written by Serena Zola

October 8, 2012 at 8:34 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooooh, you used my picture! Lol, got confused for a moment when the post first opened.

    *waves back as a fellow book blogger* Congrats on reaching your blogoversary, what a great achievement. I’ve enjoyed following your blog. 🙂

    P.S. Sorry i haven’t gotten the darn Stardust review out yet…

    beckyday6

    October 9, 2012 at 12:58 PM

    • Yeah, I hope you don’t mind I used your picture. Where do you get the special blog pictures (ie. anniversary pictures and the blog awards) from? Do you google them or get them from other blogs?

      And thanks, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog too 🙂

      yawriterinthemaking

      October 10, 2012 at 10:14 AM

      • Haha no I don’t mind. I actually made that one myself, it was a picture I took a while back (its from the same set of pictures I got my blog header from, it was a day where we had a powercut so we had candles for light lol.) then I just used paint to add some text. I do the same thing with all of the banners I use e.g. like my author interview one. As for blog award pictures, I always just get them from the blog that nominated me. 🙂

        beckyday6

        October 11, 2012 at 8:10 AM

      • Oh ok thanks for letting me know.

        yawriterinthemaking

        October 11, 2012 at 9:13 AM


Leave a Reply

