artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

3 Things To Survive Bullying

with one comment


Since the beginning of October, I’ve known that it is National Bullying Prevention Month. I wasn’t planning on posting anything because I wasn’t sure what to say. After all, I’ve already told my story about being bullied in an opinion editorial.

Then today, I heard about Amanda Todd and the Youtube video she made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOHXGNx-E7E&feature=share

Her story has to be the most tragic case of bullying and suicide I’ve read yet. Not only did she die way too soon, she also never got what she really needed to overcome her pain and live. Based on what I saw in the video Amanda made and my own personal experience, here are three things that can help young people survive bullying:

  1. Support– When I say support, I mean mostly from friends AND family. Parents are a must, but having supportive friends shows that there are some peers your own age that like you and that not everyone is out to get you. It angers me that Amanda didn’t have good friends around when she needed them. In addition to support given by people, there are resources you can use to get help and music and books that can provide comfort. 
  2. Acceptance- If you like yourself even a little bit, then that will help you develop a resilient spirit. When I was bullied, I didn’t have much pride in myself, but I preferred being myself instead of being like everyone else. Furthermore, I knew that there were a few people who liked me for me. All Amanda knew is that some idiots liked her for her body and that and the lack of peer support led to her suicide.
  3. Empowerment- Ultimately, the support and acceptance combined should let you know that you have control over your life. The support I had and the small bit of self-acceptance I had allowed me to graduate high school and survive bullying. Tragically, the same can’t be said of Amanda.

3 Books That Will Comfort Bullying Victims:

  1. The Outsiders This book doesn’t deal with bullying exactly, but the main character Ponyboy feels the same need for acceptance and belonging as bullying victims do.
  2. The Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth This book is non-fiction and it informs the reader how the things that cause them to be excluded in school will benefit them outside it.
  3. On the Fringe– This book is a collection of stories  by well-known teen fiction authors. It will relate to anyone who is treated like an outcast.

3 Songs That Will Comfort Bullying Victims:

  1. The Messenger by Linkin Park-a song of comfort: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6etygnUXIWU
  2. Perfect by Pink- a song of self-acceptance:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BIye98Ryic
  3. Don’t Jump by Tokio Hotel- a rallying song against suicide: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axbYQfxqLX8

Suicide Resources:

National Suicide Prevention Site for Youth: http://www.youmatter.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/home/get-help/help-for-you/

Suicide Awareness Voices of Education: http://www.save.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=home.viewPage&page_id=7049F2F1-C9C4-C392-588484F7906539D6

Written by Serena Zola

October 12, 2012 at 9:10 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So glad you wrote this post, I hope someone see’s it and that it helps them.

    beckyday6

    October 13, 2012 at 4:22 PM


Leave a Reply

