artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

My Personal Book, Musician, and Movie of 2012

leave a comment »


Since the year is almost over and I’ve been seeing “Best -insert artistic medium here- of 2012” I’d figure I should go ahead and make one of my own. The best book, musician, and movie I have chosen are based on what I have posted this year on this blog. So, without further delay, let’s see my choices.

Favorite Book I’ve Read in 2012Wuthering Heights

Last year, I read a story in an American Lit I class called “Young Goodman Brown” by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Not only did it make me want to start reading gothic novels, but it also taught me the one thing I’ve come to appreciate about great literary characters: duality. Having a character with both redeeming and distasteful qualities, a public self and a private self,  shows how truly complex we are as human beings. While I have read other novels (in other genres, not just gothic literature) that have well-developed characters, Wuthering Heights is, to me, the best example of duality I’ve read this year. It is for that reason I loved Catherine and Heathcliff even though they aren’t goody-goody characters.

Best Musician I’ve Listened to in 2012: David Bowie

When I first stumbled onto David Bowie’s music, I was watching a tv special on the show Soul Train. When I saw the red-haired white dude dancing to a funky, catchy rhythm and singing “FAMEEE”, I decided to look up the song  “Fame” to hear it in it full and then look up his albums. Once I did the latter, I decided not to listen to anymore songs because I wasn’t sure I’d enjoy his work. His Ziggy Stardust persona was a bit weird and intimidating  for me.  The rest of his work seemed like something I wouldn’t relate to or like because it was all over the place when it came to its genres.

Then, I saw the film Bandslam and I was convinced to look up more of Bowie’s work, especially after hearing the song “Rebel Rebel” in the film’s soundtrack. Seeing how the main character of the film Will Burton connected to Bowie made me reconsider the impact Bowie’s music could have on me as a young person. After listening to Rebel Rebel and loving it, I went back and listened to the first song David Bowie got attention for: “Space Oddity”.  My mind was blown as soon as I heard the stylophone and Bowie’s ethereal vocals afterward.

The rest is history. I grew comfortable with Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust persona after Rebel Rebel and found a couple more Ziggy era songs I liked. Furthermore, I ended up appreciating his eclectic music style after finding songs with beautiful, awesome melodies and lyrics. Sometimes the lyrics were relatable, sometimes they weren’t. I realized that I enjoyed not only introspective lyrics, but also lyrics that make you think and  lyrics about different aspects of life. I didn’t enjoy a particular album or all of David Bowie’s work, but all the songs I personally liked demonstrated how amazing and talented David Bowie is.

Favorite Songs:

Space Oddity-  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKE3FSPJu-4

Changes-  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCgzX7vwlFk

Rebel Rebel- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTe0Ow5-i2o

The Jean Genie- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLbi6y4ktgc

As The World Falls Down- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A95oIgQ_vgQ

Bring Me the Disco King (Lohner Remix)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2gMMZB0FaU

Favorite Movie I’ve Seen in 2012RENT

Sometimes, watching Jeopardy leads you to awesome things. I googled RENT after hearing a question about it on the show, and while the fact that it was a broadway musical turned me off (I hate show tune music) , but the fact that it featured rock music got me interested. I rented RENT and was surprised to see how much I enjoyed and connected to the movie. Some of characters in RENT (Roger, Mark, and Angel) were the artistic friends I always wanted. At the same time, the characters of Joanne and Collins provided a practical yet impulsive perspective that I also enjoyed.

I could relate to the character Roger, how he wanted to write one great song before he died and how he was afraid to get close to people. Furthermore, I admired how everyone had pride in what they stood for and what they loved doing; the “La Vie Boheme” scene in the Lite Cafe is my favorite part of the movie. The only thing I was disappointed about is that I was too young to experience the original broadway show in its prime.

Written by Serena Zola

December 7, 2012 at 3:20 PM

Leave a Reply

