artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Allison Iraheta: An Amazing Vocalist

leave a comment »


On Sunday, I was listening to my P!nk radio station on lastfm when I happened to look at the similar artists list below the station. The name Allison Iraheta caught my eye so I clicked on the profile. The words “20-year-old singer” and the picture of her posing with a guitar encouraged me to google and YouTube her. I was shocked to find that she had been on American Idol in 2009 and that she been eliminated, but had released a debut album later that year.

When I checked out Iraheta’s album, I YouTubed a lyric video for a random song: Scars http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zR050YFKX8

If I hadn’t googled her before listening, I would have thought the person singing was P!nk. It is amazing how alike their voices sound. Nonetheless, I sensed in Iraheta something that was entirely her own and was impressed by her vocals. As a result, I listened to the rest of the album.

With Just Like You, I felt it was so-so.  I only like five of the songs on the album; the rest of it felt too teen pop for me. Yet, the vocals on all the tracks are great. Of the five songs I liked, my personal favorites are “Scars” and “Holiday”- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KY8zLljXV7s

Despite my less than stellar opinion of the album, I still wanted to hear more from Iraheta. Since she hadn’t released another album, I decided to YouTube her American Idol performances. It in these performances I felt Iraheta truly shined her brightest.

There were two performances I viewed:

Give Into Me (Michael Jackson Cover)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duPKOivAmKw&feature=share

Papa Was a Rolling Stones (Temptations Cover; turn the volume up to hear it better)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjk2VdawpvU

With these two performances and her debut album Just Like You, Allison Ireheta has shown how versatile her voice is. Like P!nk before her, Ireheta’s voice is not meant for just some bland teen pop songs.  It is good for meaningful pop ballads like “Scars”, rock songs like “Give Into Me” or “Holiday”, classic soul songs like “Papa Was a Rolling Stone” and who knows what else!

It has been almost four years since Allison Ireheta released a new album. According to a 2010 interview, she said she planned on writing “more personal stuff” for it. I hope she does so; a track listing states that the only song she actually had a hand in writing on Just Like You  was “You Don’t Know Me” which was one of the other songs I liked. She really needs to get more of her own voice out in future lyrics. However, if Ireheta also lets people like P!nk write songs like “No One Else”, then I won’t mind.

I hope to hear more from Allison Iraheta soon because I am definitely a fan.

Additional Links:

You Don’t Know Me- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2pKF0y9yFI

No One Else (lyrics in description)- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2Jw0OIfH18

Written by Serena Zola

December 17, 2012 at 12:12 PM

Leave a Reply

