artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Favorite Ways I’ve Discovered and Enjoyed David Bowie’s Music

with one comment


Yesterday, I read in an article that David Bowie will be releasing a new album entitled “The Next Day” and has released a new single and accompanying music video called “Where Are We Now?”

My reaction: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! and also “OMG, the video I saw on the YouTube homepage about David Bowie was official! It’s a new song; must go back and view it!”

As you can see, I’ve been excited ever since. Why? It’s only been 7 months since I became a David Bowie fan and I never thought he would release an album in my lifetime. And so, I’ve decided to share my favorite ways I’ve discovered and enjoyed David Bowie’s music in order to celebrate.

  1.   A teen film called Bandslam– This film made me realize that although I was a young person, it was possible for me to connect to Bowie and his music, even though it was out there and all over the place. I had more Bowie songs on my iPod after I finished the film than before I started because I ended up looking up Bowie’s studio album discography.
  2. A documentary called Sound & Vision: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlmuuQBM4Gs– This made me respect and admire David Bowie as a musician and a person.
  3. An hour-long tribute video by Soulwax– This tribute video was fun to watch because it was like watching a movie featuring David Bowie’s various alter-egos and music. It also felt good to hear different versions of songs like “Heroes” and “Rebel, Rebel”.
  4. David Bowie’s performance of “Fame” on Soul Train: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FW9x7OkwpxA–  A little bit of this performance was part of a Soul Train documentary I saw in February of last year with my dad. It was the first time I saw and heard David Bowie. The performance also formed a precious memory of me and my dad; he was the one who said, “That’s David Bowie right there.” when the performance came on-screen.

If you are a David Bowie fan, feel free to comment on this post. Tell me how you discovered David Bowie’s music and what you think of this post and anything on it.

On a more personal note, I’d like to dedicate this post to the memory of my dad, who passed away a few days before Christmas last year. Thanks for introducing me to David Bowie, Dad.  I love you ❤

Written by Serena Zola

January 9, 2013 at 6:05 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I nominated you for the Versatile blogger award 🙂
    http://awordlessblogger.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/versatile-blogger-award/

    emmamiriam22

    January 11, 2013 at 2:24 AM


Leave a Reply

