artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Musician Spotlight: Skylar Grey (AKA Holly Brook)

leave a comment »


In 2006, Holly Brook released her debut album Like Blood, Like Honey. Seven years later, Holly Brook is back as Skylar Grey and has released three singles from her upcoming 2013 album Don’t Look Down.

This past weekend, my cousin introduced me to Skylar Grey by saying she had a beautiful voice. I immediately went to YouTube and looked her up and clicked on the music video for the song “Invisible”, which was the second single released from Don’t Look Down.

The first thing I thought after I saw the video was, “My cousin was right, this girl can sing.” The second was, “Did I just hear pop vocals and lyrics supported by a hip-hop beat? How cool!” I went back to the original YouTube page that I searched Skylar Grey on to look at the music video underneath called “C’mon Let Me Ride”. It was hilarious and reminiscent of P!nk’s “Stupid Girls” music video (though not in a copycat way). I thought “Who is this deep yet cheeky woman?”  and immediately googled Skylar Grey.

Upon doing this and viewing her discography, I listened to Like Blood, Like Honey via YouTube and wasn’t too impressed. The vocals were great, but the music and lyrics was too depressing. If you are a Tori Amos fan, then you will like the album.

Moving back to Don’t Look Down,  I saw the music video for the first released single “Dance Without You” and was creeped out in a good way. To me, the song and the music video represented Skylar Grey’s transition. She has gone from being just another Tori Amos via Holly Brook to finding her own sound as Skylar Grey.

Impressed by the songs and videos from Don’t Look Down, I wanted more of Skylar Grey. Looking at her discography on her wiki page, I realized I had overlooked the EPs. After doing some research and realizing that the ones released in 2005 and 2010 were Holly Brook work, I checked out The Buried Sessions of Skylar Grey on YouTube.

It is this EP that truly represents Skylar Grey’s potential. As it turns out, she co-wrote the choruses to two hip-hop hits (“Love the Way You Lie” and “Coming Home”) and wrote two beautiful original demos, These demos appear on Buried Sessions . Finally, “Words”, the final track on the EP  is a lovely original song by Skylar.

To sum things up, the released songs and music videos from Don’t Look Down and the EP The Buried Sessions of Skylar Grey have made me a Skylar Grey fan. Looking forward to the rest of Don’t Look Down and more awesomeness.

UPDATE (7/27/2013): When I originally typed this,  the demo of “Love the Way You Lie” was on The Buried Sessions of Skylar Grey. Since then, it has been removed from the EP and is no longer available for purchase.

Here is the demo version of “Love the Way You Lie” performed live in a hotel room

 

Written by Serena Zola

January 29, 2013 at 12:18 PM

Leave a Reply

