artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Physical Books VS E-Books

with one comment


A few years ago, I did not have a Kindle. I thought, “What’s the point? It’s not like it will be useful for me. I’m good with getting the books I want to read from the library.”

During the summer and fall of 2011, a couple of things started to change mind. That summer, I started wishing I could take more than one book with me when I travel. I have a small backpack that is enough for a few bottles of water and a book for pleasure reading. Yet, I found myself wanting to take some how-to-write books in order to inspire my writing.

One day when I returned to class that fall, I decided to check out a classic book from the campus library. I don’t recall what book it was, but I found myself a little disgusted because it was old, worn-out, and sticky. I didn’t check it out and didn’t want to try at my local library because I didn’t want another book in bad condition. Not all classic books are like that, but it made me feel like getting books in a good condition was like finding a needle in a haystack.

When the holiday season came up, I told my older sister that I wanted a Kindle. She complied to my request and the word of e-reading was open to me.

I discovered that Kindle ebooks on Amazon.com as well as sites like Project Gutenberg had free e-books of classics. I also bought my first e-book, Writing YA Fiction for Dummies , using an Amazon gift card I got with the Kindle.  I enjoyed using the Kindle, but I still liked reading books I could physically hold in my hands.

Having a Kindle has some advantages. I don’t have to worry about old classic books falling apart anymore. I can take as many books as I want with me now. I can have all the book lines I like highlighted in one place instead of written down in several journals.

Yet, I like the smell that physical books have. If the books have illustrations, then I would rather see and feel them in a physical book than magnify them in a physical book. Sometimes, I like knowing what page number I’m on and the e-book doesn’t have it.

Speaking of books with drawings, I think it is impossible to read a manga (i.e. Japanese comic book) as an e-book. You can’t experience the fun of reading a book right-to-left without actually flipping the pages. Also, you can’t appreciate the artwork without seeing the detail clearly.

To conclude, I like both e-books and physical books. However, unless I want to read a manga I don’t want to buy, I will not be reading it as an e-book.

Written by Serena Zola

February 5, 2013 at 10:09 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel the same, I can’t read cookbooks as an e-book either.

    Terisa Nelson

    March 15, 2013 at 6:41 PM


Leave a Reply

