artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Movie Review: The Perks of Being A Wallflower (DVD)

with 8 comments


Rating: PG-13

Charlie (played by Logan Lerman)  is a high school freshman living on the sidelines of life due to a traumatizing past involving his Aunt Helen and the suicide of his best friend Michael. He wants things to change, but he is extremely shy. Then, he meets two seniors: named Sam (played by Emma Watson) and Patrick (played by Ezra Miller). Together, they show him the ups, downs, and infiniteness of living.

First and foremost, Stephen Chbosky did an excellent job translating his own book into a film as the director and screenwriter. There were certain scenes like the homecoming dance and the tunnel drive that did a good job portraying the friendship  between the characters. Also, the edgy content (i.e. homosexuality, death, and sexual abuse) was handled very well. It was placed in the film in a way that was subtle , honest, and surprising to viewers who have not read the book before seeing the film.

Besides the directing, some of the acting deserves praise. Logan Lerman did a beautiful job portraying Charlie. He said certain lines with good timing and emotion; his best scene is near the end of the film (will not say the exact scene to avoid spoilers). Also, Ezra Miller is hilarious and raw as Patrick. A favorite line he says is, “These presents are so gay, I think I must have given them to myself!” Furthermore, his character is very poignant during a scene that erupts at school.

Emma Watson was the weak link in the group. She was neither good nor bad. but she seemed to be trying very hard to act American in this film.

In addition to the directing and acting, the way music was used in the film was touching. The soundtrack seems  to match the “Island of Misfit Toys” that Charlie and his new friends form. By choosing music that most people today may not know, it makes the characters and certain moments they share memorable and unique.  A personal favorite moment is with what is known as “The Tunnel Song” (i.e. “Heroes” by David Bowie), which serves as a good empowerment anthem for Charlie, Patrick, and Sam.

To sum it up, this is the most beautiful contemporary teen film I’ve ever seen. I recommend it to anyone who is or was young and  anyone who is hoping for something better in life.

My favorite scene from the film “The Tunnel Song”

Written by Serena Zola

March 12, 2013 at 10:58 AM

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One of those things on my to-do list. I was reluctant on reading the book, therefore I haven’t. But since they’ve made a movie, it’s practically a necessity that I read it.

  2. Patrick is my favorite character. Funny and cute. He brought a lot of laughter into the movie.

    Terisa Nelson

    March 15, 2013 at 6:19 PM

  3. I agree with you, I think Emma is was the weak link, she should have kept the accent. It was weird watching her like that. Anyway, I didn’t think Logan Lerman would even remotely do good in this film. I thought he’s too jock-ish but his acting was impeccable in this film. Ezra Miller, though, he steals the spotlight every time. Love him.

    The soundtrack is spot on amazing. Opening the film with The Samples’ Could It Be Another Change was a great freaking idea. 🙂

    Elaine

    March 13, 2013 at 1:27 AM

    • I’ve seen this film many times since I bought the DVD; it’s heaven O:)

      I researched Logan Lerman and I was surprised to learn he played Percy Jackson in the film adapatation of The Lightning Thief. I don’t blame you for thinking he wouldn’t do well; The Lightning Thief was a terrible film. I love Ezra Miller too for his acting and his looks; if he weren’t a year younger than me and didn’t smoke pot, I’d want to date him.

      I was disappointed with the soundtrack before I even saw the movie because I liked the songs that were in the book. However, my opinion of it changed when I heard it in the movie. Although, the only musician I’m familiar with is David Bowie. I loved the way “Heroes” was used in the film; it changed my perspective of the song and now I listen to it a lot.

      yawriterinthemaking

      March 13, 2013 at 9:13 AM

  4. This movie was truly INCREDIBLE! 🙂

    flocusfilms

    March 12, 2013 at 11:14 AM

  5. Reblogged this on Flocus Studios and commented:
    So Specs, what ARE The Perks of Being A Wallflower? Check out this detailed review! 🙂

    flocusfilms

    March 12, 2013 at 11:10 AM


Leave a Reply

