artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Top Five Outsider Books for Teens and Adults

with one comment


As a teen, I felt like an outsider in more ways than one. One thing that helped was reading books that featured fellow outsiders.

As I started college, I still felt out of place and found more books for comfort.  Some of these books helped me realize that even if you still feel like an outsider as an adult, you don’t have to be ashamed of it.  Here are my top five outsider books for teens and adults.

My Top Five Outsider Books for Teens and Adults

  1. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton– This book changed my life and made me see people differently. The fact that the author was a teen herself when she wrote it is a bonus.
  2. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky- I read this book two years before the film adaptation came out and it resonated with me as much as The Outsiders did. It does a fantastic job of including various books, music, and movies into a teen’s life. This is important because these things can keep an outsider alive and sane.
  3. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson- While outcasthood isn’t the main subject of this book, it is realistically portrayed in the main character of the book, Melinda. This ended up being the first teen book I’ve read where the main character has no friends all throughout the book.
  4. The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz If it’s one thing I learned from this book is that being an immigrant and a geek can suck. Big time. Despite all the bad crap that happens, it is still an honest and wonderful read.
  5. Geektastic by various authors- Whether you are geeky and proud or geeky and insecure, you’ll love this book. It features geeky stories by young adult authors such as Libba Bray, John Green, and David Leviathan.

 

Written by Serena Zola

March 15, 2013 at 11:33 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the first two as well 🙂

    Terisa Nelson

    March 15, 2013 at 6:04 PM


Leave a Reply

