artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Book Review: The Sea of Tranquility

leave a comment »


Nastya Kashnikov wants nothing more except to get revenge on the boy who took her former life away. Josh Bennett is so used to being alone that he wants it to stay that way. However, Nastya won’t let that happen, because she is drawn to him. Gradually, the two become friends. Nastya has revealed all but her darkest secret, but Josh thinks he’s got her figured out. When the friendship starts becoming more, Nastya’s past threatens to tear her and Josh apart.

One of the things that I enjoyed about this book were the main and supporting characters. Josh and Nastya, the main characters, were very realistic. Some traits were interesting, like Nastya collecting name meanings as a hobby. Others made Nastya and Josh equal to each other, like Josh being able to cook and Nastya being able to bake. Also, the way the characters’ traits and backstories are gradually revealed adds an element of mystery to the book that is enjoyable.

With the supporting characters, they were a surprise. At first, they seem like cardboard cutouts stuck in so the main characters interact with other people besides each other.  Yet, their true selves are gradually revealed throughout the novel. My personal favorite supporting character was Clay, who was like an artsy and more talkative version of Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Last but not least, the romance. It is so sweet and creative, that even people who dislike romance books (i.e. me) will melt.   It is shown in thoughtful actions and lines like, “We’re like mysteries to one another. Maybe if I can solve and he can solve me, we can explain each other. Maybe that’s what I need. Someone to explain me.” Furthermore, the author shows some spunk by critiquing typical romance  through Nastya with lines like, “I do know that if a guy ever called me baby, I’d probably laugh in his face. Or choke him.”

Overall, this was a raw and amazing book. I recommend this to people who wonder if two people with dark issues can ever be together or anyone who wants a fresh take on romance.

Some  more favorite lines (besides the ones already mentioned):

“I wished my mother was here tonight, which is stupid, because it’s an impossible wish.” He shrugs and turns to me, drowning the smile that cracks me every time.”

“It’s not stupid to want to see her again.”

“It wasn’t so much that I wanted to see her again,” he says, looking at me with the depth of more than seventeen years and his eyes. “I wanted her to see you.”

Written by Serena Zola

April 1, 2013 at 10:53 AM

Leave a Reply

