artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Poem Spotlight: “To This Day” by Shane Koyczan

with one comment


For National Poetry Month 2013, I’ve decided to spotlight the poem “To This Day” by Shane Koyczan. I saw the animated video made for the poem first, then I read the poem to myself via Shane Koyczan’s website. Both times, I was emotionally moved as a poet and as a person.

My heart ached at certain stanzas because of my own experience with being bullied. I felt that he reflected my feelings and the feelings of other bullying victims in an honest, raw, and poignant manner. Of course, this is probably because the poet himself was a victim of bullying.

I love certain lines in this poem, especially the metaphors. Likening bullied victims to “lobster clawed boys and bearded ladies”  and “abandoned cars” was really good. Also, the way he positioned the lines and spaced the stanzas made it seem like he was giving a speech rather than just reading poetry. It is a powerful way to get the reader’s attention.

By putting his experiences into the poem along with an uplifting message, Koyczan has shown bullying victims that they are not alone and that they can survive what they are going through. I strive to have this same impact with my work someday, so this poem was very inspirational for me.

Feel free to share this poem with others.

Written by Serena Zola

April 8, 2013 at 10:00 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. His voice is what makes this video this video. His voice is what makes it so moving. You can tell he is feeling what the video is showing. It makes it real. I teared up as I watched it.

    Marcos C.

    April 17, 2013 at 12:32 AM


Leave a Reply

