artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Musician Spotlight: Adam Lambert

with 11 comments


Source: Wikimedia Commons

Back in December, I was watching some “best of” program on VH1. Then, the commercials come on. I was going to change the channel when I see Adam Lambert going from mike to mike singing a few notes. The very last mike is sparkly and suits Adam’s taste. He looks at it in approval and then proceeds to blow my mind by hitting one of the biggest notes I’ve ever heard.

As it turns out, the commercial was promoting the tribute show VH1 Divas and Lambert because he was hosting it that year. I decided to check out the show to see what Adam was like and to see how he performed. However, I managed to forget about the show and ended up watching the last half of the re-airing on tv and certain performances online. I thought Adam was a funny host and a charismatic  performer.

Soon, I was looking up Adam’s music. His first album, For Your Entertainmentdidn’t impress me much. With the exception of the songs “Strut” and “Aftermath”, it felt like the album lived up to its name by being standard entertainment with very little passion. However, the two songs still made me want to hear more from Adam.

It wasn’t until recently that I checked out his latest album TrespassingThis time, I enjoyed listening to most of it. It reflects more of Lambert, lyrically and vocally.  My personal favorite tracks are “Trespassing”, “Broken English”, “Underneath”, and “Nirvana”.  Not to mention, the album cover and title is a clever metaphor for the album’s purpose. It crosses lines by going back and forth  from conformity to individuality, sanity to insanity, outside to inside.

Last but certainly not least, his live performances are amazing. He is one of those performers who sound even better live than on the album. While he sounds great on both his uptempo and slow songs, it is his slower songs that are a special treat. Adam Lambert’s run on American Idol foreshadowed what was to come in the future. Without a doubt, Adam Lambert is one of the most original and talented performers I’ve ever encountered.

Here is Adam Lambert performing his song “Underneath”

Written by Serena Zola

May 24, 2013 at 10:00 AM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post. I’m an Adam fan and I think he’s great – not just as a singer, but also as a person. And thanks for that Underneath vid. I hadn’t seen it before. I think a lot of his songs, especially from his first album, are better in person. For example, Sleepwalker is one of my absolute favorites live, but on the album itself it didn’t do much for me. Same for Aftermath and Surefire Winners. Maybe you can check out some of his live performances of Sleepwalker, e.g. the one at Moscow Maxidrom, Aftermath live at Wilkes Barre, and Surefire Winners live at Foxwoods.

    allowecious

    June 7, 2013 at 4:18 AM

    • I’ve been watching interviews of Adam in my spare time and I like him as a person and singer now too. I especially like the video he did for the It Gets Better Project. Also, I’ve actually got two great live performances of “Aftermath” and “Strut” on an Adam Lambert playlist I have on Youtube. However, I will check out more live performances of FYE.

      yawriterinthemaking

      June 7, 2013 at 10:53 AM

  2. It is odd but soooo true that he is even better in person. Thanks for the link. I don’t believe I’ve watched this video.

  3. Tears….. still. yet, again!!! Awesome vocals and deeply felt emotion rarely if ever seen and heard in Pop music today…ever!!!

    Barb (@barb4Adam)

    June 2, 2013 at 12:05 PM

  4. Nice write up, I think you certainly hit the nail on the head that Adam is an amazing live performer, I have seen him live several times and its always magic. For example you mention only a couple of songs on FYE that you cared for but let me tell you hearing Soaked live on his first tour, wow he totally changed it and stripped it down not unlike what he did with live underneath, its a little more theatrical presentation but gave me goosebumps for sure. Sleepwalker also he beefed up and killed live. Love most of Trespassing but thanks for the Nirvana shout out cuz I LOVE that song that run up on the high note then the smooth drop out afterwards dang, vocal perfection there. Cant wait to hear whats coming next from him.

    Lisa Walker

    June 2, 2013 at 11:22 AM

  5. At the last paragraph, I think you meant to say Last but NOT least …..

    Debbie Smith

    May 31, 2013 at 9:50 PM

  6. Thank you for that great review. He gets better the more he performs. You should check out Queen + Adam in London last summer at Hammersmith. Day 3 was incredible. Underneath is my favorite also.

    lexa133

    May 31, 2013 at 9:08 PM

    • I believe I saw some of Queen + Adam on Youtube, but I’m not sure what day it was. However, I think I’ll check out the entire concert or at least day 3 when I have time.

      I wish Adam would perform Nirvana live; it’d be incredible to hear him hold that high note in the song!

      yawriterinthemaking

      June 1, 2013 at 10:16 AM

  7. Reblogged this on mmalutko.

    mmalutko

    May 24, 2013 at 11:36 AM


Leave a Reply

