artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Random Post: A-Z Book Survey Answers

with 3 comments


Credit: Krys from Black n’ Write

I was doing my daily rounds on my WordPress Reader and I saw this post by Black ‘n’ Write about this book survey. Being a book nerd in need of something fun and different to do, I decided to fill it out!

Author You’ve Read The Most Books From:

I’m pretty sure it’s Lemony Snicket but let me go to Goodreads and make sure. Yep, I’m right.

Best Sequel Ever:

There are many authors I can think of,  but in order to avoid mentioning the same author twice, I’ll say every book after Alanna: The First Adventure in the Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce.

Current Reading:

Villette by Charlotte Bronte. This could take a while (curse you slow pacing!).

Drink of Choice While Reading:

I never drink anything while reading except water to keep myself hydrated.

E Reader or Physical Book?

Both.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:

Ponyboy Curtis from The Outsiders. Don’t care if he is a Greaser; his love of literature and his deep view of things is so wonderful!

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:

The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. These books exposed me to great supernatural bonds and powers and a kick-ass heroine. Not to mention, a better vampire series than Twilight.

Hidden Gem Book:

Kojiki by Keith Yatsuhashi. Would have never known about this book without the site MyAnimeList and the author’s request for reviewers.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:

Sometime when I was in community college, I realized I could appreciate other genres besides teen fiction and fantasy. I discovered other genres and had fun doing it.

Just Finished:

The last book I finished reading was The Korean Word for Butterfly by James Zerdt.  It was good, but it could have wrapped up better and had less spelling errors.

Kind of Books You Won’t Read:

Mystery. I have no patience for every detail in a story about solving a crime.

Longest Book You Ever Read:

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. Not sure of the exact page number, but I know it’s over a thousand pages long.

Major Book Hangover Because of:

The Diary of Anne Frank. When I read it the first time, I cried at the end. Her spirit will haunt me forever.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

One, but only because my room is small. I also have manga and books piled in a drawer.

One book you have read multiple times:

The Outsiders by S.E, Hinton. It’s one of my favorite books and my inspiration as an aspiring young adult author 🙂

Preferred Place to Read:

Leaning against a furry purple back rest on my bed in my room

Reading Regret:

None that I can think of.

Series You Started and Need to Finish:

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I have the entire series in one movie-edition.

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

Tears for Water by Alicia Keys (yes, the singer)

The Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth by Alexandra Robbins

Unapologetic Fan Girl For:

The Harry Potter Series. I mean come on, this was my childhood and my introduction to fantasy fiction and mythology!

Very Excited for This Release More Than All Others:

Meh. It’s been a little while since I got excited about a new book release…

Worse Bookish Habit:

Finding excuses not to read a book when it gets slow. Did I mention I’m currently reading such a book?

X-Marks The Spot (Start at the top-left of your shelve and count to the 27th book):

My 27th book (if you count the books stacked on top books) is The Writer’s Complete Fantasy Reference by Writers Digest. I bought this for reference purposes and possible inspiration.

Your Latest Book Purchase;

Ha! I don’t really buy regular books anymore (or manga for that matter). However, the last book I bought was a manga titled Magic Knight Rayearth II Omnibus Edition. I bought it on my b-day back in February so I could have the complete Magic Knight Rayearth series ^_^

ZZZ Snatcher Book ( A book that kept you up wayyy late)

It was only half an hour past my bed-time but the book that did this to me was Les Miserables by Victor Hugo.

Written by Serena Zola

August 14, 2013 at 4:38 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] talking about the books I love so much. So, when saw this survey on both Black ‘N Write and ArtsandYouthLove, I just had to do it. Let’s get to it, shall […]

  2. I’ve seen this around a few times this week now and thought about giving it a go, but I think I have my hands tied for now with the 30 Day Book Challenge!

    Enjoyed reading all your answers. 🙂

    beckyday6

    August 14, 2013 at 5:12 PM


Leave a Reply

