artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Banned Book Week Spotlight: The Harry Potter Series

with 4 comments


Hogwarts Coat of Arms

Hogwarts Coat of Arms Source: Wikimedia Commons

It’s one of my favorite literary times of year again: Banned Book Week! From September 22 to the 28th, people are celebrating the freedom to read classic books and current books. This year, I’m going to spotlight The Harry Potter series.

I was in fourth grade when I first heard about the series. A kid brought in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire to class and my teacher read some of it aloud. The story had me intrigued and I remember getting my mom to buy it for me. The only problem was, I hadn’t realized I was reading the series out-of-order until I looked on the spine. Oops!

Anyway, I think I either somehow read the entire book with no clue what was going on or I managed to get the first three books and read them first. I can’t remember which happened, but either way I eventually understood the plot and became a fan of the books.

When I was in elementary school, I liked the books because I was in awe of Harry’s world.  There was magic, creatures, and places I couldn’t have dreamed of before reading the series. I found it really cool.

By the time Harry Potter and The Order Phoenix came out, I found that book becoming my favorite in the series, I could relate to Harry’s angst and the way he wondered about what kind of person he was. Another thing I liked were the weird characters and creatures that were introduced: thestrals, Luna Lovegood, Nymphadora Tonks, and Grawp.

I had also realized I could relate to Hermione the most. Like her, I was “an insufferable know-it-all” who read a lot and got bullied for it.  Unlike Hermione though, I specialized with being a know-it-all” in a particular subject: literature. Also, I was pretty lonely and there were plenty of times I wished Hermione actually existed.

The biggest impact this series has had on me was introducing me to fantasy-fiction, mythology, and folklore. Without this series, I would have never read the Percy Jackson series, the Song of the Lioness quartet, or any Dragonlance books.  I am eternally grateful for this series giving me a strong love for fantasy-fiction.

Thank you so much J.K. Rowling for giving me one of the best things about my childhood. These books will always be in my heart.

Written by Serena Zola

September 20, 2013 at 11:11 PM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember those days, your Harry Potter obsession.

    lifes2short77

    November 18, 2013 at 4:23 PM

  2. I still dont know why they wont remove HP from the list..

    Jeyna Grace

    September 21, 2013 at 4:37 AM


Leave a Reply

