artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

My Top Ten Afropunk Musicians With Some Favorite Songs

with one comment


Afropunk has become my number one favorite music genre. Consisting of punk rock, alternative, and indie music, this genre is a part of a movement for black people to show identities not shown in the mainstream. Now, I will show you my top ten Afropunk musicians and some favorite songs by each one.

10. Shinobi Ninja

Genre: Rock, Rap, and a dash of techno

Favorite Songs: Power Strangers, Gloom Doom

9.  Santigold

Genre: Rap, reggae, rock, electronica

Favorite Songs: Shove It, God From The Machine

8. Alice Smith

Genre: soul, jazz, blues, rock

Favorite Songs: Woodstock, Desert Song

7. Cecile Mclorin Salvant

Genre: blues, jazz

Favorite Songs: Poor Butterfly, I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate

6. Tamar-Kali

Genre:  Punk rock

Favorite Songs: Pearl, Fire With Fire

5. Divinity Roxx

Genre:Rock, Rap

Favorite Songs: Get Here, Get Yo Fix

4. Noisettes

Genre: hard rock, blues rock, pop

Favorite Songs: Burn, Atticus, Sister Rosetta

3. Angel Haze

Genre: Rap, spoken word, r&b, pop

Favorite Songs: Angels and Airwaves, Planes Fly, Who I Am, Summertime Sadness (Cover)

2. Janelle Monae

Genre: rock, funk, pop, classical, rap,  jazz, r&b

Favorite Songs: Cindi, Come Alive (War of The Roses), Locked Inside, Q.U.E.E.N.

1. Kimya Dawson

Genre: Folk

Favorite Songs: Happy Home (Keep on Writing), Wandering Daughter, Singing Machine. Burn

 

Authoress Note: I’d like to thank everyone for following my blog and reading my posts. It means a lot to me! Also, I will be taking classes and doing an internship this summer so I may not post for a few months.

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] that’s it for me. You’re up next. I tag Kokkieh, Black ‘n Write Reviews, Art and Youths Love and Madame Bibilophile Recommends anyone else who wants to do it. Share with us. Link back to […]


Leave a Reply

