artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Thank You For Letting Be Myself: A Special Thanksgiving Greeting

with 2 comments


This year has been really life-changing for me as a woman of color. I have gone from feeling alienated from the black community to feeling more connected to it. I have gone from feeling ashamed of being different as a black person to being proud of who I am and not caring what others think. I owe these feelings to many online communities, independent/under-sung musicians, and independent authors. To these people and spaces, I say, “Thank you for letting me be myself”.

For Harriet, a black women’s blog- This summer, I was an editorial intern for this site. As I wrote essays and articles for the site, I got in touch with issues affecting the black community and discovered other online communities for black people. I also discovered the value of my own ideas and interests. Visit the site here.

Afropunk, a community site for independent musicians and artists- I discovered Afropunk after watching the documentary A Band Called Death, which was about the first black punk band. I had Googled the words “black punk bands” and Afropunk was the first link that I saw in the results.

Not only did the music on the site validate my eclectic music taste and get me new music, but it also inspired my own creativity as a writer and poet. This summer, I spread the word about the music I discovered from the site on this blog, in the category “Below The Radar Music”. Eventually, I would become a contributor to Afropunk in order to continue spreading the word about the music that I enjoyed. Visit Afropunk here.

Black Girl Nerds- This is another site I discovered thanks to Google. One day when I was feeling lonely, I typed in the words “black girl nerd” in Google’s search engine and the link for the site caught my eye. Soon I found myself happily browsing the site and feeling like I finally had a place to set my nerdy side free. Like with Afropunk, I would become a contributor to this site as well.  Check out Black Girl Nerds here.

The NPC Collective- These men and women are nerdy people of color who rap about video games, animation, and other nerdy topics in the music genre called nerdcore. I started with Sammus, a black female nerdcore rapper, producer, and gamer whose stage name was inspired by the heroine from the Metroid video game series. From there, I moved on to black male nerdcore rappers like Mega Ran, 1-Up, and Skyblew.

These people have made rap fun and have shown other nerdy people of color that they aren’t alone.  I have supported them through articles on Black Girl Nerds and Afropunk. For more info on The NPC Collective, check out their website here.

Black Fantasy Fiction Authors- Through Black Girl Nerds and the blog site The Chronicles of Harriet, I discovered black urban fantasy and sword and soul authors such as Kyoko M., Balogun Ojetade, and Milton J. Davis. In order to spread the word about their works, I’ve been reviewing their books on my blog in the category “Fantasy Fiction: People of Color”. These authors also introduced me to African mythology and showed me that black people can create a new view of their past, present, and future with creativity and imagination.

 

To these people and communities, I give thanks. Thank you for letting me be myself and I hope to see more wonderful things from you in future.

 

 

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You definitely have grown a lot this year as a young lady. I am very proud of you.

    Te Nelson

    November 25, 2014 at 10:53 AM

  2. Reblogged this on thankuwall.

    thankuwall

    November 25, 2014 at 9:05 AM


Leave a Reply

