artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

My Favorite Geeky Things of 2013

with 4 comments


I’ve seen a lot of great stuff to geek out about this year, so I’d thought I’d share my favorites. Have fun with the links!

1. RWBY by Monty Oum- This anime-inspired animated series was featured online via the website of the creator and YouTube. The series focuses on four girls who attend a prestigious academy to learn to fight monsters.

The main characters and most of the supporting characters have awesome abilities that are fun to watch. The abilities of the four girls Ruby, Weiss, Blake, and Yang were previewed in four trailers before the  series premiered. In addition, the series also spawned a great soundtrack for the first volume (season 1).

Favorite Trailer: White (Weiss)

Favorite Episode: 8

Favorite songs from the soundtrack: “Mirror Mirror”, “This Will Be The Day”, and “I Burn” (Yellow Trailer Version)

Watch RWBY YouTube Playlist– includes the four trailers and all sixteen episodes of volume 1.

2. Link’s Shadow and Next Gen. Smash Bros 300%– I saw both of these videos during YouTube geek week over the summer. Both of these videos have awesome live action role-playing. Link’s Shadow has Link and Dark Link from the Legend of Zelda video game series fighting each other.

Next Gen. Smash Bros has different characters from the Super Smash Bros. video game series fighting each other at huge sizes (sometimes).  I love both of this video games because Link is awesome in both!

3. Star Wars Themed Videos: Cello Wars- The Piano Guys, Bohemian Rhapsody- Arizona Cosplayers

I saw the Cello Wars during YouTube geek week. I’m not sure of this, but this may have been my first PianoGuys music video. I loved it because it was a lovely and funny take on the score.

As some of you may already know, the Star Wars version of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody is very recent. I originally saw the video on Buzzfeed and clicked on it out of curiosity and because it seemed geeky yet cool. I was right! If you click on the CC button at the bottom of the video, you can see the lyrics on-screen!

4. Kid Dressed as Harry Potter at Penn Station– I found this via the site Buzzfeed back in November. The boy playing Harry Potter is so cute! My favorite part was when the security guard says, “You kinda look like Harry Potter.” Improv Everywhere did a great job staging this.

5. Legend of Korra Book 2-  After a very long wait, book two of the animated series Legend of Korra finally premiered in September. Legend of Korra is the sequel to Nickelodeon’s Avatar: The Last Airbender.

While the first half of the season could have been better, the second half was freaking awesome. The only thing that spoiled my enjoyment of the series somewhat was the Korra haters.

(insert mini rant: Korra is a freaking human being, even if she’s also the Avatar! So what if she made a lot mistakes and had anger issues? Korra would not be who she was at the end of Book 2 if she was flawless. )

Anyway, to celebrate the LOK series and Korra herself, here is an animated music video that features scenes from Book 1 and Book 2 of LOK and the song “Transcendence” by Lindsey Stirling.

Written by Serena Zola

December 11, 2013 at 10:00 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha, I found Korra very annoying in season 1. She’s just so…full of angst.

    I think Ang was a better Avatar. But since they are all the same person, my previous statement does not carry any weight. LOL

    Jeyna Grace

    December 11, 2013 at 9:20 PM

    • Everybody’s entitled to their opinion. I didn’t find Korra annoying at all in Season 1 because I knew she had a need to be strong physically and emotionally because she felt pressured to live up to Aang’s legacy. In fact, I related to her because of that.

      Thanks for commenting! Happy Holidays!

      yawriterinthemaking

      December 12, 2013 at 2:10 PM

  2. Ohh my gosh I LOVE the Harry Potter video!

    beckyday6

    December 11, 2013 at 12:22 PM


Leave a Reply

