artsandyouthlove

Books, Music, Movies, Youth Issues, Random Stuff

Op Ed: How Pop Music Can Be More Unique

with 5 comments


A few weeks ago, I read an article on the Huffington Post entitled “Pop Music Too Loud And All The Same: Official“. I don’t know about the too loud part, but I’ve thought most pop music sounded all the same since high school.

Anyway, the article got me thinking about how pop music can be more unique:

1. Don’t be Cookie Cutter; Be You

One of the reasons Pink is my favorite pop musician is that I admire her for having the courage to find her own sound and tell people she was going to do her music her way. And what better way to do it than with the song “Don’t Let Me Get Me”? A song with a similar message is Avril Lavinge’s “Nobody’s Fool”, which is from her debut album Let Go. Like Pink, Avril Lavinge has left her own mark in the music industry with this song and many others.

2.  Use love, sex, and relationship lyrics sparingly

Ok, I know these things make the world go round. However, as human beings, we have other emotions and things we experience. It wouldn’t hurt if more pop musicians wrote about the world around them. Even Michael Jackson, for all his dance songs, literally wrote about the world in  songs like “Earth Song”.

3. Don’t be afraid to go deep

Sometimes, the most powerful songs end up being inspired by personal experiences. Take the song “I’m Ok” by Christina Aguilera. Any fan (or person willing do some research) will know that this song is based on Christina’s childhood. While it might not be as famous as the song “Beautiful”, it is still a song worth acknowledging.

4. Make a creative music video

While the song may be fine by itself, a great music video can bring it to life. If you don’t like the song, then maybe the music video will make you appreciate it a little. A recent example is for Pink’s new song “Blow Me (One Last Kiss).” I don’t like the song due to my personal taste, but the music video made me feel better about it.

LINKS:

Don’t Let Me Get Me- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_t9AA3Z4PE

Nobody’s Fool-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9X6pKjgjfko

Earth Song- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sg5EkHF5tg&hd=1

I’m Ok-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quAFmNvk_Zs

Blow Me One Last Kiss-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3jNlIGDRkvQ

Written by Serena Zola

August 12, 2012 at 6:00 PM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good points! Cookie Cutter haha – I like that. I’m just fed up with mainstream music these days, it’s just so repetative. Have you ever heard Misfit by Amy Studt? I used to love that song when I was younger, that was always a pop song that stood out to me, and it had a cool video too. 🙂 Shame they don’t make them like that anymore…

    beckyday6

    August 13, 2012 at 10:26 AM

  2. I agree with the things you say here. The cookie-cutter stuff is tiresome. And those willing to break the mold will really stand out.

    Laura Ritchie

    August 12, 2012 at 6:34 PM

    • It seems like more people today care about making crappy music that sells than standing out; how sad is that?

      yawriterinthemaking

      August 14, 2012 at 8:08 AM

      • Pretty darn sad, if you ask me. I guess we just have to support the artists we love as well as we can.

        Laura Ritchie

        August 15, 2012 at 9:27 PM


Leave a Reply

